Wobbly legged and listless

Wobbly legged and listless – I am sure it was a hit in the 1970’s

 Wobbly legged and listless

I’ve gone and done it again

Wobbly legged and listless

My blood is full of my chemo

Chemo, I can’t get free from these veins

Oh, oh-oh

 Well maybe not (sorry Andy Fairweather-Low). I saw my Oncology Consultant today and everything seems to heading in the right direction. The next consultation is in October just before my birthday – gosh doesn’t time fly. Only ten days to chemo 6 – my last session.

I am reassured by my sister-in-law’s comments that towards the end her chemo she found it a challenge to walk to the bottom of the garden. Why so? Because I think I am slowing up too. In fact at times I think I am walking a bit like a drunk, not that anyone else would notice. (I did have a glass of wine a couple of weeks ago but I am sure the effect should have worn off by now). Seeing how well my sister-in-law has recovered gives me hope that it is only a temporary blip.

I am being accused of having people on – “You look so well, you can’t be ill.” Well I don’t feel ill, just a bit wobbly legged and sometimes a little listless especially later in the day. I certainly don’t feel like running a marathon, but then I never did.  I have been fortunate in that I haven’t felt ill since this all started – just the “Bryson issue” that kicked off the saga and then the tests that showed that something was up. If the MRI machine says there is a problem . . .

Wobbly legged may be a bit of an exaggeration , and it’s not so much listless as dozy especially after lunch and in the evening.  Oh and water still tastes a bit odd some of the time. In fact all my small adverse reactions are occasional, not all the time although I am told that I am getting a bit forgetful but I can’t remember when that happens.  All run of the mill stuff down to chemo-brain.

Me2

I also am having people comment on my near-clean-shaven-ness to which I reply “It’s the drugs you know”. They just laugh, which is fine. The more perceptive of course might think “What drugs?” and put two and two together. We can have a conversation if they want; but we don’t have to. Conversations that do occur fall into two camps – “I am so sorry” sometimes followed by offers of help and “I was diagnosed x years ago and look at me now” which is usually reassuring. So far the “more-perceptives” are well outnumbered by those who just laugh.

 

2 thoughts on “Wobbly legged and listless

  1. It sounds as though you are coping well, Tim. I love your approach of telling people without telling them and let them pick it up if they wish.
    Personally, I am not a great believer in not saying something if someone gently probes. I think it is difficult for them if they hear further down the track. But we all have our ways of coping which works best for us an while we cope with all of that we are number 1. Lots of love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

